Bob Marley

 

I dance in my living room at 4am. In my underwear. Little in her Baby Bjorn (did you know that Bjorn means bear? So the carrier is literally baby bear. Which is, in my opinion so much cuter).

But I digress. Back to the dancing. My darling Little does not like sleep. I’m not sure exactly why, but I have found out that she loves Bob Marley and anything with a reggae flair. She also loves to hippy dance.

Are you familiar with hippy dancing?  I love it. It’s easy and freeing and makes you feel like your a little drunk or high – not that I would know what that feels like 😉 – just kidding I live in California. Used to be a green card holder (medical marijuana for those not in the know). But I digress again (it is like 5am…).

Hippy dancing is when you stand with your feet a little wider than your shoulders and bounce around in circles to the beat (like your doing squats but not all the way because that is working out, not dancing). You wave your arms around without abandon and generally just let your body move without restriction or judgement. There is also head swaying involved.

Little LOVES this. She refuses to sleap after eating sometime between 2am and 4am. I subsequently get very frustrated so I stick her in the baby bjorn (bear), click on the little pandora icon on my phone, say hello to Mr. Bob Marley and his reggae cronies, and get to dancing. Within minutes Little is out like trout. (Does anyone know what that saying means?!)

So now I’m wondering exactly where my Little came from. Why is she so into reggae? Why her affinity for hippy dancing? Neither are activities that I engaged in while pregnant. I’m pretty sure I gave birth to a Rasta hippy reincarnate. And you know what? I’m cool with that. But you would think she would be down with the sleeping…

Leave your thoughts here

